Leaving magazines loaded.

Info, pictures, advice...
Bird

Leaving magazines loaded.

Post by Bird »

I've heard differing opinions about whether or not it's bad.

Thoughts?
DoubleTap

Re: Leaving magazines loaded.

Post by DoubleTap »

I work in the coil handling industry. We design equipment that uncoils and straightens those giant coils of steel and aluminum you see tooling down the highway all the time. Steel will not develop a memory (i.e. lose its springiness) unless it's bent beyond its yield point, which should never happen in a properly designed magazine. Loaded or unloaded makes no difference. What will destroy a magazine spring (in no particular order) is heat (like a fire), rust, and repetitive cycling between a loaded and unloaded condition – in other words, normal use. Leaving them loaded doesn't hurt a thing. In fact, guys will inadvertently do more damage to their magazines by periodically unloading them, on the mistaken notion that by rotating their magazines, they're somehow giving the springs a 'rest'. It simply doesn't work like that.

Don't worry about leaving them loaded. Just be aware that they will wear out with actual use, and they should be considered expendable. And if ever get to the point where you're contemplating stretching a spring to make it 'springy' again, don't waste your time. Just pitch it and get another one. :)
GA400

Post by GA400 »

Double Tap - thanks for that great info, I have often wondered about the "memory" of steel. Do you have any thoughts on whether magazines should be lubricated? Some folks claim that lubricating helps the spring travel up and down in the magazine, while others claim that it only makes the magazines more likely attract and retain dirt and grit.

Thanks
Rich
DoubleTap

Post by DoubleTap »