.303 Mauser?????

Use this section for all other firearms
volfandan

.303 Mauser?????

Post by volfandan »

OK, here's the deal:

The other evening a buddy of mine wanted me to go with him to this guys house. My buddy found an add in the paper for a guy selling off a lot of his fishing equipment. So, we went to this guy's house to check out his fishing assortment. We both ended up buying some stuff, and the guy mentioned that he had a few guns for sale as well. I asked him what he had, and he mentioned a Remington 700 30-06 (no thanks, already have one), a Mossberg .410 bolt gun (not interested), and a WW1 Mauser that was brought back from the war by his grandfather (the man was probably in his 60's).

He claimed that he knew nothing about military arms, but was told that it was all original and matching. I am no expert on early 20th century arms, so I asked if it was an 8mm built on a 98 action....like the later WW2 guns. He told me that his gunsmith said that it was chambered for "the British .303 round".

What gives? Anybody ever heard of such a thing? Is his gunsmith a moron? I told him that I wasn't interested, but would list it on gunbroker for him if he wanted.
normsutton
Global moderator
Global moderator

.303 Mauser?????

Post by normsutton »

volfandan

on the Enfield forum someone was saying that the GERMANS had a supply of Enfield's that were in 303 BRIT.. at the beginning of the WW 2 but never heard of a Mauser chambered for the 303 BRIT.

NORM
NORMSUTTON@AOL.COM
N.R.A. LIFE MEMBER 1976

ImageImage
papabear
Global moderator
Global moderator

.303 Mauser?????

Post by papabear »