Kimber Ultra Crimson Carry II - 45 caliber - 3" Barrel

Use this section for all other firearms
robalan

Kimber Ultra Crimson Carry II - 45 caliber - 3" Barrel

Post by robalan »

Do any of you have experience or thoughts on this Kimber. I took a look at one and I am really tempted to get one.
Foo Bird

Re: Kimber Ultra Crimson Carry II - 45 caliber - 3" Barrel

Post by Foo Bird »

All I can tell you is I have a .45 from another manufacturer with a 3.5in barrel and it's a handful.
dfunk
Site Admin
Site Admin

Post by dfunk »

My brother-in-law has the Pro Carry version. I played around with his friends' Ultra of the exact same model. Here is my take...

The Ultra felt too small. I couldn't get enough of a grip that I was confident in, and that to me is step 1. I've heard numerous negative things about sub 4.25" barrels in 1911's regarding reliability and timing. While I have no first-hand experience with this, I can tell you that Kimber elected to relive the front of the ejection port along with the normal rear to aid in brass clearing successfully. There was obviously a reason for that. I'd rather have the full sized grip, the extra round, and the plentiful array of readily available mags. Kimber says you need to fire 500 rounds as a 'break in period' before they deal with most reliability warranty work, which I also find unacceptable.

The Pro Carry (first-hand shooting exp):