Launched my safety detent into space!!!(should i make some?)

Info, pictures, advice...
Shaggy

Launched my safety detent into space!!!(should i make some?)

Post by Shaggy »

I was trying to do my CC piece's first full strip since i got it, and during reassembly the detent flew out. been all over the kitchen and cant find it anywhere.

Does anyone have a source?

Should i make my own? If you guys have, what did you make them from? (If i was at work my first thought would be some worn out gauge pins 52100 Steel)

Does anyone have an original toleranced print of either slide or detent.(i have anouther p64, i just would rather make it to spec.

Or should a run a production run on them? I'm a machinist by trade, and one of my coworkers has a garage business with a cnc lathe.

Also would a longer tail make more sense, so it locates on the spring better for assembly?
Shaggy

Re: Launched my safety detent into space!!!(should i make some?)

Post by Shaggy »

Looks like i found some at RTG!!
Ketchman
Elite member
Elite member

Post by Ketchman »

Glad you found them.
Close enough for Government work will get you dead, ask any Vet.
soram

Post by soram »

Shaggy wrote: October 5th, 2021, 8:53 pm I was trying to do my CC piece's first full strip since i got it, and during reassembly the detent flew out. been all over the kitchen and cant find it anywhere.
This is why you should ALWAYS do a full strip inside a gallon sized plastic bag!

I too lost a part (I believe it was the indent spring) a very tiny spring. I heard it hit across the room by the TV.

After hours of searching a carpeted room, I FOUND the spring inside an OPEN paper bag right at the feet of where I was working!?! :shock: I was lucky and so are you for at least finding one somewhere.

Ross
Shaggy

Post by Shaggy »

soram wrote: October 6th, 2021, 5:46 am