NEED HELP! First Time to the range, Not good

Info, pictures, advice...
LantanaTX

NEED HELP! First Time to the range, Not good

Post by LantanaTX »

Hello,

I took my new P-64 to the range today for the first time and had a lot of issues. I shot 100 rounds. Hammer spring is Wolf 17# recoil is 22#, Mag release is the extended one being sold here on the site. Ammo was Red Army Standard which I have never used before.

The good:

very accurate and easy to keep on target
Felt great in the hand
No problem with slide bite at all
No trigger slap (what exactly is that?)
Recoil not bad at all, easy quick follow up shots.

The Bad:

Shot 16.5 full mags (100 rounds)
Only 1 mag shot all six
FTF once or twice per mag. bullet pointing up with mag released
Mag releasing seemed like the main problem
Would drop the mag on last bullet most of the time. Slide only locked back after last shot about three times
I thought there might be a problem with the mag and the only time I shot all six was when I changed mags, but after that the same issues continued and didn't get much better.

The gun was well cleaned and oiled prior to heading out to the range. I will probably throw the stock springs in it and try again tomorrow, but I like the lighter main spring if I can get this gun to function properly. I had hoped to carry this gun D/A safety off. If I do this with the stock spring and had to use DA in a crisis I am worried where that first shot might go.
manicmechanic
Veteran member
Veteran member

Re: NEED HELP! First Time to the range, Not good

Post by manicmechanic »

I'd try upping the hammer at least to an 18 and see if the mag drop stops. If not keep going up a pound.
manicmechanic
Veteran member
Veteran member

Post by manicmechanic »

Also make sure your mags are clean too.
Wacousta

Post by Wacousta »

Are you maybe using post-1972 mags in a pre-1972 pistol?
Teneo lupum auribus.
LantanaTX

Post by LantanaTX »